Lactic Acid (E270)

Halal status: Source dependent

Biological origin dependent. Produced by fermentation of carbohydrates using bacteria. The fermentation medium may contain animal-derived nutrients such as whey or meat extract. Prefer preparations using plant-based fermentation media.

Halalyn ingredient ruling. Open this page in a browser for the full interactive view, references, and related tools.